Hippie-dippy Pain Relief

ArnicareGel

If you’ve never heard of arnica before then I suggest you continue reading. A friend of mine works on a traveling dance production that tours the nation. One night, I was complaining about my shoulder and he told me that “whenever a dancer gets injured, they use arnica gel for pain relief” and suggested that I tried it too.

Arnica gel? What the devil is that? Well, I’ll tell you. Arnica is a flower in the sunflower family. The arnica flower is used to make medicine. When arnica is applied to the skin it temporarily relieves muscle pain & stiffness due to minor injuries, overexertion and falls but also reduces overall pain, and the swelling & discoloration from bruises (WebMD & arnicare).

My friend swears by this product and couldn’t shut up about it. He went on and on about how many people he has seen reduce their injury down-time by more than half because of arnica. It peaked my interest enough for me to go out and purchase some.

Whole Foods Market sells the Arnicare topical gel and oral pellets combo pack for less than $10, so I picked it up and started using it on my shoulder immediately. After a few days my shoulder pain almost completely disappeared. After a week, the pain was gone. Sold! You don’t have to tell me twice. If it works, it works.

 

Leave a Reply

